Camp Toonalook Reflection

2 Weeks ago we took a 3 hour trip to Camp Toonalook. This Camp Was definitely different to any other camps I have been on. We Soared across the river on a boat and Camped out, it was really fun. Also, the food on this camp was remarkable, There were burgers, tacos, etc, all made by one lightning fast chef. My favourite was the lasagna because it had a perfect texture and a delicious taste. There was no doubt that this camp wasn’t the best camp we had been on.

My Favourite activity was the boat ride, obviously. We got to ride on speedboat on rapid speeds, I sat on the back meaning that I could see the waves emitting from the boat. Last year the Toona foam which was the old boat used saw its last daylight. Due to the boat being slow, old and leaky, it would continue to never be used again.

One of the other activities we did was bike riding. We had 2 sessions, one at the starts and one closer to the end. The 2nd one was considerably longer than the first because we rode, across Raymond island, an island close to Camp. We had 2 stops during the ride for drinking water and spotting koala’s. We learnt that when koalas were brought to the island, soon enough there were over 600 until they were brought away.

We all shared tents with 5 other people with 3 tents per gender. We made a music video with copyrighted music but in it each tent get about 5 seconds or more. On the last morning Mr Benwell (Our teacher) woke everybody up at 5:45 to find the people who were going to see the sunrise. I couldn’t be bothered but I saw the pictures and they were just spectacular.

Every day I went to the beach to see the serenity and it never failed to surprise me. It would be completely calm with swans gliding across the water. It was like the I had picked the perfect time of day every time I walked down. It was like the clouds aligned and the sun was on the horizon. Overall, Toonalook was the best it could have been and I’m already thinking about going back.

If you went or if you did, what would or was your favourite part?

4 comments

  1. Hi Dillon!
    It sounds like you had a lot of fun on the camping trip. Personally, I would have loved the chef. I LOVE a good lasagna.
    I can’t believe you actually saw koalas. I’m from the USA and have never once seen a koala in real life. What are they like?

    From,
    Eitan

  2. Koala’s are very cute but make the weirdest sounds. So of them were at heights above 10ft which scared me but made me wonder how they manage to sleep, keeping in mind that they sleep like 18 hours of the day. They must just be used to it. Thankyou for the comment Eitan.

  3. Hello Dillon,
    What an amazing experience you shared in this post! Seeing and hearing the koalas must have been interesting. The camp food does sound delicious and you clearly appreciate good food. Do you find yourself enjoying food more at camp after being so busy throughout the day?

    My 6th grade students also love going to camp but our overnight trip does not involve boating, koalas, or biking. I will be sharing your blog post with them and hope they will also leave you comments about your fascinating and detailed reflection.
    Happy Blogging,
    Mrs. D
    STUBC commenter
    Cave Creek, Arizona, USA
    https://mrsdsroadrunners.edublogs.org/2019/11/01/the-git-up-event/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *