Hanging on the Bottom of the World

This term, our class plus 5Q have been practising a production. Hanging on the bottom of the world is it’s name, a comedic play about Australian history. It covered everything from Captain Cook to Federation. I was the governor of Tasmania, one of six. We each wore black suit jackets and top hats to finish the look. I appear in a scene where I try to sell apples to the governor of Victoria. I had to act quite formal but that didn’t interfere with my expression. 

There were 2 performances, one matinee and one night performance. The night performance obviously was packed because of less work. Nevertheless we tried to perfect both of them but it didn’t come easy. Almost every day we practised which got boring seeing the same scenes over and over again.

 Since I only appear in about 30% of all scenes, it gets insanely boring. Out of the blue, someone told me I was going to be a brides maid which brought a challenge which was actually what I wanted seeing as I got so incredibly bored. One of the most repetitively boring scenes was a cricket scene where the federation debate is displayed as a cricket game. I have to constantly act like I’m at a cricket game and watch the exact same scores every time and hear the exact same lines.

At the start of the play, Federation was represented in 6 brides until one of the commentators shouts at the brides to move and get of because the other commentator is “uneducated on Australian history”. Out of the bushes captain cook bursts in meaning that they had traveled back in time. I won’t spoil anything more but this play follows the story to Federation.

A thanks to Helen for making excellent props and costumes for the production. 

These included the suits and top hats and the brides headpieces. If you don’t know, there are brides who act as colonies/states. Also a huge Thank you to Simon, Ms Quodling, Olivia and Mr Benwell for directing and just helping us when we needed it. 

One comment

  1. Hey Dillon,

    Great to hear you understood your scene. Interesting that you found it ‘boring’! It can be a challenge going over various scenes, but I certainly wouldn’t say that its boring, that’s just the rehearsal process and the effort you need to put in to get it right, and the achievement you feel when you nail it on the night!

    Well done on your efforts,
    Mr B.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *