CBCA Book week

Last week was Book Week which is where the majority of schools in Victoria (I’m pretty sure) celebrated Books. As a part of this Years 4-6 judged shortlisted books. For a book to be shortlisted they would have to include incredible detail and outstanding illustrations. Also a part of this would be just how the book is set out.

The Book consisted of Our Birds, Waves, Sorry Day, Make Believe, The Happiness Box and Bouncing back. Most of the shortlisted books contained all of those qualities but only the best book would be crowned winner. In Carey, the choise was obviously Make Believe because of its beautiful illustrations, this was also my choise. In the end the winner was Sorry Day was the Winner. If you voted on these books, which one was your favourite and why.

 

2 comments

  1. Hey Dillon,

    I certainly don’t know a school that doesn’t embrace Book Week in some way, but not sure anyone does it as well as us! I haven’t read ANY of the shortlisted books yet(which isn’t very good of me), but would love read Make Believe and link it to our Term 4 maths unit. Escher is incredible! Do you think we could use it for Maths?

    Mr B.

  2. I haven’t actually read Sorry Day yet Dillon but I am so excited about this win.
    I predict that this picture book will be an excellent resource for teachers. I believe we could use this book to tune-in to units regarding Indigenous cultures. I personally am excited to deliver a unit that increases students understanding of Indigenous perspectives. I will definitely engage with Sorry Day soon so that I can see why it was chosen as the winner.
    Miss Dube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *